eftec director appointed as a member of the Adaptation Sub-Committee of the CCC

The Committee on Climate Change today announced the appointment of a leading environmental economist and a senior business director to its Adaptation Sub-Committee.  Ece Ozdemiroglu, founding Director of eftec (Economics for the Environment Consultancy) and Rosalyn Schofield, Director of the Company Secretariat at Associated British Foods, join the Adaptation Sub-Committee (ASC) this month, each for a three-year term from 1 January 2016.

They succeed Professor Martin Parry and Professor Sam Fankhauser who stood down from the ASC at the end of their terms of appointment on 31 December 2015. Professor Fankhauser will continue to sit on the Committee on Climate Change (CCC).

Lord Krebs, Chair of the ASC, said: “I am delighted that Ece and Rosalyn have agreed to join the committee. Ece will bring her expertise in considering the economics of climate change and Rosalyn will add a senior business perspective to our thinking. I am very much looking forward to working with them.”

Ece Ozdemiroglu said: “I am delighted to have been given this opportunity to contribute to the Adaptation Sub-Committee using my knowledge of environmental economics, including flood risk, water quality, forestry and green infrastructure; topics I have worked on over many years. Economic arguments can show, and can help to communicate, how adaptation should be a common goal for all policy areas. I see robust evidence and good communication as equally important and will prioritise both as part of the Sub-Committee’s work.”